Gunsan City's
산시 동국사
Korea's only remaining and functioning
Japanese Colonial-Era architecture Temple
Visited in March 2018
Built in front of a bamboo grove around 1927 by a Japanese monk serving this town;
refurbished in the past two decades by the Jogye Order that now owns & operates it.
as can be seen on the old gatepost, the original name was
Geumgang-sa [Diamond Temple], the Shingon-sect identity
was vandalized.  The Jogye Order renamed it in 1965.
distinctively Japanese bell-pavilion with multifarious divinity-stones
Next to the pavilion, an elaborate info-sign is next to an old shinmok [spirit-tree].  
Recently placed in front of them both is a generic statue of a "Comfort Women"
statue, to counter-balance the 'Japanese Colonial' nature of this site, and inflame
Korean emotions against the former oppressors/exploiters of their nation.
The Daeung-jeon Main Hall
Jijang-bosal the Bodhisattva of Salvation, utilized in funerals, on the far-left.
Chilseong the Seven Stars deity of destiny
The Shinjung Taenghwa or Assembly of Guardian Spirits Icon.
Sanshin is difficult to find in here;
Yong-wang the Dragon-King is at the center of the group below.
The Main Altar features a "Teaching Sakyamuni" statue made of mulberry paper-mache and gilded
with gold in 1718 -- one of only six such artworks from before 1900 in the nation!  Flanked by statues
of Ananda and Kashyapa as usual.  These are falnked by Sanshin on the left and Deokseong on
the right, an arrangement giving primary status to those figures that is not unique but is quite rare.